Northern Ontario Council

Northern Ontario Council

NWO Council BadgeplusGN Council Badge  

Northern Ontario Council was formed in 2002 with the amalgamation of the Northwestern Ontario Region and Great Northern (Northeastern Ontario) Region. The Northern Ontario Council looks after the area between the Quebec Border and the Manitoba Border, and from the French River north to the South shore of Hudson Bay.

The Council straddles the Eastern and Central Time Zones.

The Council is sub-divided into 12 Areas:

The Ken-Kee Area covers from Sioux Narrows north to Grassy Narrows and from Willard Lake west to the Manitoba Border. Ken-Kee includes Kenora and Keewatin on the shores of Lake-of-the-Woods, from which it gets its name;

The Sunset Area, is from White Otter Lake north to McKenzie Island, and from English River west to Vermillion Bay on Highway 17. Includes Ignace, Sioux Lookout, Dryden, Red Lake and Ear Falls;

The Rainy River Area in the Southwest, is from Kawene west along Highway 11 to Rainy River, and from the US Border north to to Nestor Falls on Highway 71.

The Thunder Bay Area From Nipigon in the east to the Quitico Provincial Park Boundry on Highway 11 and the town of Upsala on Highway 17 in the west, and north from the US Border to Garden Lake, including Armstrong and the City of Thunder Bay and it's rural suburbs.

The Nipigon Bay Area, from the town of Nipigon to Long Lac along Highway 11, including Orient Bay, Beardmore and Geraldton;

Lake Superior Area, along the North Shore of Lake Superior, from Schrieber to White River, and from Marathon to Manitouwadge and Hornepayne on Hwy 631;

Points North Area, from Wawa, east to Chapleau and north to Kapuskasing on Hwy 11;

Black River Area, along Hwy 11 including Iroquois Falls, Cochrane, Matheson, New Liskeard, Englehart and Elk Lake;

Porcupine Area, Timmins and surrounding area, southwest on hwy 101 to Folyete, northeast to Connaught;

Sault Ste. Marie Area, from Batchawana Bay to Sault Ste. Marie and surrounding areas, east on hwy 17 to include Blind River, and the top of Elliot Lake on Hwy 108;

Sudbury Area, Hwy 17 east from Blind River to Verner, north on Hwy 144 to Cartier, and south to French River;

Nipissing Area, from North Bay on Hwy 17 west to Sturgeon Falls, east to Mattawa, on Hwy 11, north to Temagami and south to Sundridge;

Council-Direct Service groups are Gogama, Hearst, communities along Hwy 599 and the James Bay coast.

The Council hosts Scouting activities in all sections, Camps, Kub Kar Rallys (called Pinewood Derby in the USA), 18 Wheeler Rallys, (the Scout equivalent to Kub Kars) where the older youth, and leaders, build and race Transport Trucks.

Council Cub and Scout Camps are held in the Fall, Winter and Spring, and are open to all Cubs, Scouts, Venturers and Rovers. Anyone wishing to attend from outside Northern Ontario Council will be welcomed.

For more information contact

Area Badge

This Web Page is maintained by Scouts Canada Thunder Bay Area.

Please feel free to contact us with any questions or comments.